Sanninnotabi's Blog

The Transport

Posted on: October 31, 2009

Rickshaw_asakusa

When I came to Japan three years a go, I really leave the transport business to the committe of the program in which I joined. In my view the transport system is far more than OK company to my country, or maybe any country in the world? I don’t know. Now that we are planning this trip and we depend on ourselves, I searched several website to dig deeper information about the transport system that we will use during our trip, and the more I got the info the more I am drooling on  how the information regarding the transport is close to PERFECT. And the perfection started from my own country.

How does that happen? I don’t know how this magical things happen to me when I finally read about Japan Rail Pass. If you visit Japan for about one to three weeks, this is sure a good recommendation. The website said: “The JAPAN RAIL PASS offers an incredibly economical way to travel throughout Japan by rail”. I do think that’s true!! We are this freak who already counted the detail of our transportation budget during our stay in Japan, which include transport around Tokyo for 10 days include the transport to Osaka and Kyoto and then back to Tokyo. We were so detail but we still don’t believe in the detailed budget because there is a high possibility that we take the wrong train in the wrong line which will cost us more money to spend. We were also thinking about how our body will be suffering if we take a night bus from Tokyo to Osaka which will take about 8 hours, continued with walking around Osaka/Kyoto with that tiresome body….Owh>_< I can’t imagine my feet become swollen because of that. The cheapest cost for night bus will be around 9500 yen, which we were not sure we’ll be able to get the ticket for the bus.

I was also thinking about taking Puratto Kodama, which cost 9800 yen from Tokyo to Kyoto and 10000 yen from Tokyo to Shin Osaka station, each of them for one way trip. KodamaBut taking the shinkansen for return trip is really killing us another 10000 yen budget. -_-; I was wondering for about a month, maybe, if there is a cheapest cheapest way to get around Japan without being tired of wasting too long time on the street. I found that Japan often offering some special ticket for this line and that line of train, for this season and for that season, for this long and for that long. Suica, Seishun 18 Kippu, Osaka Rail Pass, and something like that. All of them offering many interesting benefit but none were really suitable for us.

One day, I read some info real slowly and just realized that Japan Rail Pass exists. od. It’s efficient. ticketNot only you will be able to buy it in your country, it also will allow you to pass any JR line you want without having to pay more if you’re miss the right way. As long as it’s JR, it’s okay to take the train within the range of time you decided on your own!!! I don’t wanna sound like advertising them, but I do think that they will be making many things easier~ What made me happy was the fact that the Pass will allow us to take Hikari and Kodama around Japan for several times!!! It will leave us with no problem in deciding which city we will watch NEWS concert in!  

Dear Japan Rail Pass, I knew I love you before I met you!!!

One other thing I would like to add on this entry is Himiko Cruise Ship. Wuw!

himoko_cruiseship

Let say, this is a cruise for fulfilling our hunger of something futuristic in our trip. Fufufufu. I love this ship by the time I saw its picture. I was just wondering what to do around Odaiba (while I am sure THERE ARE SO MANY THINGS TO DO around Odaiba), but I need to take picture with something kakkoi… Then I found this lady Himiko… Forgive us for being random but we do plan to take picture with the captain-san of Himiko^^; Maybe it will feels like taking picture with the handsome pilot of Gundam.. duh..Sorry, ossan.^^; I just read someone’s blog who already use Himiko and he thinks that the inside is looks like a big disco floor…. hehehe I’m looking forward. If it really looks like a disco, just dance.

Hahaha..

Leave a comment